Hot topics & tips on the ever changing business of farming

2016 Crop Insurance Coverage and Premiums

Leave a comment

Projected Prices for 2016 are $3.86 for corn and $8.85 for soybeans.

How much coverage per acre?

Below,  I have put together two charts for Hardin County, IA: one for corn and one for soybeans. Select the APH that best represents your operation. You can then see the dollar per acre coverage level for 80% and 85% Revenue Protection. The coverage level does not change with unit structure. (OU: Optional Units  and EU: Enterprise Units).

2016 Corn Revenue Protection Coverage – Hardin County, IA

Corn Coverage


2016 Soybean Revenue Protection Coverage – Hardin County, IA
Sobyean Coverage

How much will it cost per acre?

The second two charts provide the Revenue Protection premium per acre at each APH level.  You can see the difference in premium for OU vs. EU at both the 80% and 85% coverage level.

2016 Corn Revenue Protection Premiums – Hardin County, IA 

Corn Premiums

2016 Soybean Revenue Protection Premiums -Hardin County, IA 

Soybean Premiums

Author: Betsy

I have a passion for helping farmers manage risk and increase their profitability. As an agent at Ibeling Insurance Services in Ackley, IA, I work with farmers to financially secure the future of their farm. I see agriculture as a way of life. Growing up, everyone in my family pitched in to get the job done. We worked on the farm and played on the farm. Our annual family vacation was going to the Iowa State Fair. Knowing that I wouldn't be operating the family farm in the future, I opted for finding a fit in the agricultural industry. I received a bachelors degree in Agricultural Business from Iowa State University. My career started at FCStone in West Des Moines, IA as a Commodity Broker. Each day, I worked with county elevators hedging their price risk on the Chicago Board of Trade. My husband, Levi, and I decided to move closer to home. I had the opportunity to continue working in agricultural risk management as an insurance agent. Ibeling Insurance Services is a great fit for me, as I love what I do, the people I work with, and the community I live in. In the fall, I coach high school volleyball at AGWSR Schools in Ackley. We have a team filled with delightful, talented young ladies. Levi and I have been blessed with a healthy baby boy, Alex, in December of 2013. We are enjoying parenthood, as Alex continues to amaze us!

Leave a comment